October 2nd, 2008

The Pulse vs. Inside the Dodgers

CHICAGO — Apologies for lack of entries here this week. As you may have noticed, I’ve been writing our daily overview piece for the MLB.com homepage and am currently at Wrigley with a morning flight to LAX and high probability for an all-nighter. I did want to share this:

Just chatted with Josh Rawitch in the Dodgers’ dugout during BP, and he is issuing a friendly challenge to Mark DeRosa. Josh noticed that my “Latest Leaders” traffic rankings here last week showed DeRosa’s The Pulse MLBlog No. 1 overall, followed closely at No. 2 by Josh’s Inside the Dodgers.

“I should go tell him he has a challenge for No. 1,” Josh said. I told him that DeRosa provided a pretty good NLDS start to his blog by hitting a two-run homer and then blogging about it. (Shane Victorino, too.) But Josh has a good formula all his own. No matter what he feels like posting about, he always can be the first person anywhere to post the Dodgers’ starting lineup each day, and that has been a fundamental in his postings — but only a small piece of why it’s such a great community. . . .

Making sure everyone here has seen all eight of our MLB.com postseason player blogs:

Brian Anderson (White Sox) – http://banderson.mlblogs.com

Ryan Braun (Brewers) – http://ryanbraun.mlblogs.com

Mark DeRosa (Cubs) – http://markderosa.mlblogs.com

Jacoby Ellsbury (Red Sox) – http://jacobyellsbury.mlblogs.com

Andre Ethier (Dodgers) – http://diningwithdre.mlblogs.com

Torii Hunter (Angels) – http://toriihunter.mlblogs.com

Carlos Pena (Rays) – http://carlospena.mlblogs.com

Shane Victorino (Phillies) – http://shanevictorino.mlblogs.com

Not postseason, but just updated: http://bengiemolina.mlblogs.com

They’re going to amass some amazing traffic numbers, so be sure and leave them comments and include your full URL so that you engage a big baseball crowd. Then hook ’em.

One interesting thing about this lineup is that we now have created an amazing THREE Brian Anderson MLBlogs. The first one was Brian Anderson the former hurler, who maintained Confessions of a Left-hander. I never deleted it after he stopped due to Tommy John surgery, mainly because he was our first-ever player MLBlogger. I think that’s kind of historic in a cool way, so that’s why it hasn’t been scraped and he has the actual “name” URL. The second one is by our friend Brian Anderson the Brewers’ broadcaster. So we actually have two Brian Andersons blogging with their own involvement in this postseason.

Will try to get an updated Latest Leaders but might not happen this week. I have lots more Cub fans to interview.   🙂

Check out Google’s new blog-search page. http://blogsearch.google.com — and here is what you get if you search for “MLBlogs”. Excellent representation.

Welcome to Pheeling Optimistic!

Mark

%d bloggers like this: